A Spanish inspired dish in 20 mins – Pork, chorizo and butter bean stew

I cooked a lovely Spanish inspired dish yesterday for my lunch in 20 minutes, which was then eaten by the boys for their tea, and the remainder was polished off by the baby sitter in the evening. This dish was enjoyed by 4 very different people at 3 different times, and saved me cooking separate meals 3 times during my busy day. I often struggle to think of what to eat at lunch time if I am at home, and get tired of the same old sandwiches. When you have been rushing around all morning you often need a more substantial lunch. I cooked this dish as I had some Chorizo in the fridge and some Pork & Chorizo sausages from Asda in my freezer.  You could use any good quality pork sausages instead of the pork chops/fillet listed in this recipe. The lovely smoky, tangy flavor in this dish from the paprika and lemon compliments the simplicity of the potatoes and butter beans.  The paprika and Spanish sherry ( E.g. Manzanilla or Amontillado – find it with normal sherry in the spirit aisle) are easy to get hold of in supermarkets, if you don’t already have it in your store cupboard. You will use them up as they are an easy way of giving any dish an authentic Spanish flavour. As you can see from the photos below my youngest (Ethan – just 2) loved it so much that he tried to lick as much as he could off his bib. Even my very fussy 6 year old (who, by the way, only started getting fussy with food about 2 months ago) said ‘Mmmm Mummy this is quite nice actually’ and asked for a second portion!

Pork, chorizo, butter bean stew recipe

Pork, chorizo, butter bean stew

Pork, chorizo, butter bean stew

Ethan loving his Pork, chorizo, butter bean stew!

Ethan loving his Pork, chorizo, butter bean stew!

I've licked the bowl - is there any left?

I've licked the bowl - is there any left?

Leave a Reply

