Are you passionate about feeding you and your family healthy and delicious food at speed?

We eat so much fast food now because it is so readily available, and our lives don’t seem to allow us time to cook. I figure being a parent is hard enough without having the added time pressures of providing healthy and filling food for your family every day. If you are passionate about making sure you and your family is given healthy and delicious food, even when you have extremely little time (or no time) to cook, then I hope this blog will help you. I don’t want to create more regular recipes that aims for meals done in 30 minutes, because normally this is not quick enough. I want to make it easier for parents to feed themselves and their children by learning from my own family journey of fine-tuning my cooking to increase speed, maintain taste and improve nutrition.

I aim for recipes to take any time up to 22 minutes (the time it takes to cook oven chips). The recipes are easy to read and require minimal equipment. They are affordable, delicious, nutritious, filling and freezable. And, before you ask, yes I have tried buying a ready made dinner from M & S and Asda, and I can safely say it took me longer to get the meal out of the packet, read the instructions, get the oven warmed up (or stir the meal every 2 minutes in the microwave) than cooking from scratch. After all that I was still hungry as the portions were certainly not big enough, the salt content was too high and it was very expensive!

If you enjoy cooking then it can be relaxing to flick through your recipe books, decide on a recipe, buy all the ingredients and embark on the culinary skills and paraphernalia needed. Having a family does not allow you this pleasure very often, and why shouldn’t you have tasty meals every day of the week that don’t take forever to prepare? My recipes will require no arduous tasks such as whipping egg whites into stiff peaks, nor require any hard to find ingredients such as squid ink that leave you wandering through supermarket aisles searching forever! You won’t need to over spend on your food budget, as you will not be required to buy any truffle oil or Foie Gras.

You won’t be expected to turn the oven down to different temperatures at various intervals, or marinade anything overnight.  This does not mean that the food you produce from my recipes will taste any less delicious, and you will certainly have more time to get on with the thousand and one other things you need to be doing.

I have tried to keep words to a minimum so that you won’t spend 10 minutes just reading the recipe! I have designed recipes to suit a family journey – traveling from the very beginning of conceiving to raising your family. I hope my ideas will help you to feel more in control of your food and not feel so dragged down by the kitchen.

My fast food family journey so far has been years from the start of my first pregnancy. My journey will continue as a mum who is passionate about nutrition and taste in food for my family. I’d like you to cut some of the corners of the roads I have taken, and benefit from the lessons I have learnt to make it an easier and more enjoyable food journey for you and your family.

Morrocan prawn harissa



Leave a Reply

